Skip to content

Oman · e-Visa guide

Oman eVisa: who needs one, and who can visit visa-free

In brief

Visa-free entry for up to 14 days, first group (no extra condition): the Foreign Ministry lists 78 entries. One entry is 'China (includes Hong Kong and Macau)'. The list also names 'French Guinea', which is ambiguous (French Guiana, whose people hold French passports, or Guinea, once called French Guinea). Page last updated on 22 September 2026.1 Visa-free visitors may stay 14 days; the stay cannot be extended or turned into a residence visa.1 Oman's visas for visitors are applied for online. The Royal Oman Police (ROP) runs the visa process, and the Foreign Ministry sends applicants to the ROP eVisa website, evisa.rop.gov.om.1

Apply only on the official site: evisa.rop.gov.om. Other websites are not the government's.

Checked 5 Nov 2026Source: Royal Oman PoliceReport a change

Independent reference, not a government website. We don't issue visas or sell visa services.

ContentsIn brief
  1. In brief
  2. At a glance
  3. Visa-free entry
  4. Who needs an eVisa
  5. Official website
  6. Fees
  7. Fee history
  8. How to apply
  9. Warnings about other sites
  10. Processing time
  11. Recent changes
  12. Oman visa for Indian citizens
  13. Oman visa for US citizens
  14. Oman visa for British citizens
  15. Oman for UAE residents
  16. FAQ
  17. Sources
  18. About this page

Oman eVisa at a glance

Visa-free entryVisa-free entry for up to 14 days, first group (no extra condition): the Foreign Ministry lists 78 entries. One entry is 'China (includes Hong Kong and Macau)'. The list also names 'French Guinea', which is ambiguous (French Guiana, whose people hold French passports, or Guinea, once called French Guinea). Page last updated on 22 September 2026.1Visa-free entry for up to 14 days, second group (24 entries): only for those who live in, or hold a valid entry visa for, the US, Canada, Australia, the UK, a Schengen state or Japan, or who live in a GCC state in a profession that qualifies for the resident visa.1
Stay without a visaVisa-free visitors may stay 14 days; the stay cannot be extended or turned into a residence visa.1
Tourist eVisa feeIn the ROP eVisa system, the eligibility wizard asks for nationality, purpose and GCC residence, then shows the visa subtypes you can apply for, with their fees and length of stay (ROP user guide 'Apply for Un-sponsored Visa', Wayback capture of 24 October 2026).2
Other visa feesA sponsored tourist visa, applied for by a licensed tourism company, is open to all nationalities and is valid for 30 days, extendable for a similar period. Fees: OMR 5 for 10 days, OMR 20 for 30 days (the page shows the amounts next to an Omani rial icon whose alt text is 'OMR').3A one-year multiple-entry tourist visit visa is available to citizens of countries the authority specifies, for OMR 50. Conditions: passport valid for at least six months, 'residence' (stay) in Oman not exceeding one month, applicant outside Oman, and no other valid visa.4
Where to applyOman's visas for visitors are applied for online. The Royal Oman Police (ROP) runs the visa process, and the Foreign Ministry sends applicants to the ROP eVisa website, evisa.rop.gov.om.1
Official websiteevisa.rop.gov.om1rop.gov.om5
DecisionNot stated by the official sources we read

Who can visit Oman without a visa

  • Citizens of the GCC states (Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the UAE) need no visa to enter Oman.

    Citizens of GCC countries (the Kingdom of Bahrain, the State of Kuwait, the State of Qatar, the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates) do not require visas to enter Oman.Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked

    Show the list: 5 countries and territories
    • Bahrain
    • Kuwait
    • Qatar
    • Saudi Arabia
    • United Arab Emirates
  • Visa-free entry for up to 14 days, first group (no extra condition): the Foreign Ministry lists 78 entries. One entry is 'China (includes Hong Kong and Macau)'. The list also names 'French Guinea', which is ambiguous (French Guiana, whose people hold French passports, or Guinea, once called French Guinea). Page last updated on 22 September 2026.

    In line with national efforts to promote and ease services for tourists visiting Oman, visitors from more than 100 countries and regions are exempt from entry visas for stays up to 14 days. The countries covered by this exemption are divided into two groups.Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked

    Show the list: 79 countries and territories
    • Albania
    • Andorra
    • Argentina
    • Armenia
    • Australia
    • Austria
    • Belarus
    • Belgium
    • Bolivia
    • Bosnia and Herzegovina
    • Brazil
    • Brunei
    • Bulgaria
    • Canada
    • Chile
    • China
    • Colombia
    • Croatia
    • Cyprus
    • Czechia
    • Denmark
    • Ecuador
    • Estonia
    • Finland
    • France
    • Georgia
    • Germany
    • Greece
    • Hong Kong
    • Hungary
    • Iceland
    • Indonesia
    • Iran
    • Ireland
    • Italy
    • Japan
    • Kazakhstan
    • Latvia
    • Lebanon
    • Liechtenstein
    • Lithuania
    • Luxembourg
    • Macao
    • Malaysia
    • Malta
    • Mauritius
    • Moldova
    • Monaco
    • Netherlands
    • New Zealand
    • North Macedonia
    • Norway
    • Paraguay
    • Philippines
    • Poland
    • Portugal
    • Romania
    • Russia
    • San Marino
    • Serbia
    • Seychelles
    • Singapore
    • Slovakia
    • Slovenia
    • South Africa
    • South Korea
    • Spain
    • Suriname
    • Sweden
    • Switzerland
    • Thailand
    • Türkiye
    • Ukraine
    • United Kingdom
    • United States
    • Uruguay
    • Uzbekistan
    • Vatican City
    • Venezuela
  • Visa-free entry for up to 14 days, second group (24 entries): only for those who live in, or hold a valid entry visa for, the US, Canada, Australia, the UK, a Schengen state or Japan, or who live in a GCC state in a profession that qualifies for the resident visa.

    To obtain this facility, citizens of the second list countries are required to be either residents or have a valid entry visa for one of the following countries (the United States of America, Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, Schengen Agreement countries, Japan), or to be residents of one of the countries The Gulf Cooperation Council and its profession are among the professions that benefit from the resident visa.Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked

    Show the list: 24 countries and territories
    • Algeria
    • Azerbaijan
    • Bhutan
    • Costa Rica
    • Cuba
    • Egypt
    • El Salvador
    • Guatemala
    • Honduras
    • India
    • Jordan
    • Kyrgyzstan
    • Laos
    • Maldives
    • Mauritania
    • Mexico
    • Morocco
    • Nicaragua
    • Panama
    • Peru
    • Tajikistan
    • Tunisia
    • Turkmenistan
    • Vietnam
  • Visa-free visitors may stay 14 days; the stay cannot be extended or turned into a residence visa.

    The person will be allowed to stay in the Sultanate for a period of (14) days, which cannot be extended or transferred to any type of residence visa.Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked

  • Visa-free entry requires a passport valid for at least six months, a return ticket, a confirmed hotel booking, health insurance and enough money for the stay. A spouse and children also benefit, even if they hold another nationality.

    The visitor must hold a passport valid for no less than six (6) months. He must have a return ticket, a confirmed hotel reservation, health insurance, and a sum of money that will enable him to bear the burden of living during his stay in the Sultanate. ... The husband, wife, and children benefit from this facility, even if they are not nationals of the country.Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked

  • The Ministry of Heritage and Tourism publishes an undated PDF with different lists: a first list of 73 countries and a conditional second list of 30. For example, it puts Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan in the conditional list (the Foreign Ministry has them in the first group), and it names Taiwan, which the Foreign Ministry page does not. We follow the Foreign Ministry page (updated 22 September 2026).

    1st List ( 73 Countries) ... 2nd List (Conditional Countries) (30 Countries)Ministry of Heritage and Tourism of Oman · checked

Who needs an Oman eVisa

  • For tourists who need a visa, the usual type is the Tourist Visit Visa (Unsponsored); other purposes may need a different visa. Nationalities not on the visa-free lists check their options in the ROP eVisa website's eligibility wizard.

    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked
  • Residents of GCC states in approved professions, and their companions, can get a GCC resident visa for tourist visits: OMR 5, with a passport valid for at least six months, GCC residence valid for at least three months, and employment with an institution.

    Royal Oman Police · checked

Official website

Oman visa fees

  • The free 14-day tourist visa is a separate fee-free category in the schedule of entry visa fees.

    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked
  • A sponsored tourist visa, applied for by a licensed tourism company, is open to all nationalities and is valid for 30 days, extendable for a similar period. Fees: OMR 5 for 10 days, OMR 20 for 30 days (the page shows the amounts next to an Omani rial icon whose alt text is 'OMR').

    Royal Oman Police · checked
  • A one-year multiple-entry tourist visit visa is available to citizens of countries the authority specifies, for OMR 50. Conditions: passport valid for at least six months, 'residence' (stay) in Oman not exceeding one month, applicant outside Oman, and no other valid visa.

    Royal Oman Police · checked
  • Overstaying the visa-free period costs a fine of 10 rials per day, and the visa-free stay does not allow any work or a switch to a visa that leads to residence (Ministry of Heritage and Tourism PDF).

    Ministry of Heritage and Tourism of Oman · checked
  • An unsponsored tourist visa can be extended: OMR 5 for 10 days or OMR 20 for 30 days. The page does not give the fee for issuing the unsponsored visa itself.

    Royal Oman Police · checked
  • A visit visa extension for tourism or visits costs OMR 20; the passport must be valid for at least six months.

    Royal Oman Police · checked
  • The eVisa fee is non-refundable, and paying does not guarantee that the visa will be issued (ROP user guide).

    Royal Oman Police · checked · read from an archived copy of 24 Oct 2026

The official pages we read don't state the fee of the unsponsored tourist eVisa: the Royal Oman Police eVisa system shows it for your nationality.

Oman eVisa fee history

Each amount with the act or notice that set it, newest first.

  1. A free 14-day tourist visa, granted to nationals of countries the competent authority designates, was added to the schedule of entry visa fees as a separate category by a Royal Oman Police decision published in Official Gazette No. 1659 of 2 August 2026, in force the day after publication. Set by: Royal Oman Police Decision No. 109/2026 amending some provisions of the Executive Regulations of the Foreign Residence Law (Official Gazette No. 1659, 2 August 2026). Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked
  2. As of The Royal Oman Police's service page on Gov.om (updated 5 August 2025) gives the sponsored tourist visa fees as OMR 20 for 30 days and OMR 5 for 10 days (amounts shown next to the Omani rial sign). Royal Oman Police · checked
  3. As of The Royal Oman Police's tourist visa page as archived (capture of 28 February 2017) gave the fee for the one-month, single-trip tourist visa as 20 Omani rials, and OMR 5 for a visa valid for 10 days. Royal Oman Police · checked · read from an archived copy of 28 Feb 2017

How to apply

Apply only on the official site: evisa.rop.gov.om. Other websites are not the government's.

  • Oman's visas for visitors are applied for online. The Royal Oman Police (ROP) runs the visa process, and the Foreign Ministry sends applicants to the ROP eVisa website, evisa.rop.gov.om.

    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked
  • The GCC residents' visit visa is issued at Oman's entry points to GCC residents in professions that do not need a sponsor; extending it costs OMR 5.

    Royal Oman Police · checked
  • In the ROP eVisa system, the eligibility wizard asks for nationality, purpose and GCC residence, then shows the visa subtypes you can apply for, with their fees and length of stay (ROP user guide 'Apply for Un-sponsored Visa', Wayback capture of 24 October 2026).

    Royal Oman Police · checked · read from an archived copy of 24 Oct 2026
  • Official help for eVisa questions: the ROP eVisa call centre, 80080011 toll-free inside Oman, +968 22848200 from abroad, and Info-OmaneVisa@rop.gov.om.

    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked
  • The tourism ministry's visa page says a tourist visa can usually be obtained on arrival but advises getting it before travel. The Foreign Ministry page describes only the online ROP application, so we treat the online route as the main one.

    Ministry of Heritage and Tourism of Oman · checked

Official warnings about other sites

We found no warning about other websites from a government, regulator or court on the official pages we read.

How long it takes

Not stated by the official sources we read.

Recent changes

  1. A free 14-day tourist visa now exists: amendments to the Executive Regulations of the Foreign Residence Law add it for nationals of countries the authority designates, on its conditions. It can be swapped before expiry for another tourist visa category, paying that category's fee. Published in Official Gazette No. 1659 on 2 August 2026, in force the next day. The Foreign Ministry's English text is marked unofficial, and it does not name the designated countries. Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked

Oman visa for Indian citizens

eVisa

Or: Visa-free only with a residence permit or valid visa of the US, Canada, Australia, the UK, a Schengen state or Japan, or GCC residence in an eligible profession; plus return ticket, hotel booking, health insurance, funds. Stay: 14 days, not extendable.

Or: GCC residents only, in professions specified by the ROP: GCC Resident Visa (type 29), eVisa without a sponsor, single entry. Stay: 4 weeks, extendable 1 week.

Foreign Ministry of the Sultanate of Oman · checked
  • India is not in the Foreign Ministry's first visa-free group. Visa-free entry for up to 14 days, first group (no extra condition): the Foreign Ministry lists 78 entries. One entry is 'China (includes Hong Kong and Macau)'. The list also names 'French Guinea', which is ambiguous (French Guiana, whose people hold French passports, or Guinea, once called French Guinea). Page last updated on 22 September 2026.

    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked
  • India is in the second visa-free group, which needs a visa or residence permit of certain countries. Visa-free entry for up to 14 days, second group (24 entries): only for those who live in, or hold a valid entry visa for, the US, Canada, Australia, the UK, a Schengen state or Japan, or who live in a GCC state in a profession that qualifies for the resident visa.

    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked

Everything for this trip: Oman visa for Indian citizens.

Oman visa for US citizens

Visa-free, 14 days, not extendable Passport valid 6 months; return ticket, confirmed hotel booking, health insurance and sufficient funds.

Foreign Ministry of the Sultanate of Oman · checked
  • The US is in the Foreign Ministry's first visa-free group. Visa-free entry for up to 14 days, first group (no extra condition): the Foreign Ministry lists 78 entries. One entry is 'China (includes Hong Kong and Macau)'. The list also names 'French Guinea', which is ambiguous (French Guiana, whose people hold French passports, or Guinea, once called French Guinea). Page last updated on 22 September 2026.

    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked

Everything for this trip: Oman visa for US citizens.

Oman visa for British citizens

Visa-free, 14 days, not extendable Passport valid 6 months; return ticket, confirmed hotel booking, health insurance and sufficient funds.

Foreign Ministry of the Sultanate of Oman · checked
  • The UK is in the Foreign Ministry's first visa-free group. Visa-free entry for up to 14 days, first group (no extra condition): the Foreign Ministry lists 78 entries. One entry is 'China (includes Hong Kong and Macau)'. The list also names 'French Guinea', which is ambiguous (French Guiana, whose people hold French passports, or Guinea, once called French Guinea). Page last updated on 22 September 2026.

    Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman · checked

Everything for this trip: Oman visa for British citizens.

Oman for UAE residents

  • Residents of GCC states in approved professions, and their companions, can get a GCC resident visa for tourist visits: OMR 5, with a passport valid for at least six months, GCC residence valid for at least three months, and employment with an institution.

    Royal Oman Police · checked

Oman for UAE residents: the full guide

FAQ

Do I need a visa for Oman?

Visa-free entry for up to 14 days, first group (no extra condition): the Foreign Ministry lists 78 entries. One entry is 'China (includes Hong Kong and Macau)'. The list also names 'French Guinea', which is ambiguous (French Guiana, whose people hold French passports, or Guinea, once called French Guinea). Page last updated on 22 September 2026. Visa-free entry for up to 14 days, second group (24 entries): only for those who live in, or hold a valid entry visa for, the US, Canada, Australia, the UK, a Schengen state or Japan, or who live in a GCC state in a profession that qualifies for the resident visa. For tourists who need a visa, the usual type is the Tourist Visit Visa (Unsponsored); other purposes may need a different visa. Nationalities not on the visa-free lists check their options in the ROP eVisa website's eligibility wizard.

Do Indian citizens need a visa for Oman?

Indian citizens: eVisa, according to Foreign Ministry of the Sultanate of Oman, checked 31 Oct 2026. Or: Visa-free only with a residence permit or valid visa of the US, Canada, Australia, the UK, a Schengen state or Japan, or GCC residence in an eligible profession; plus return ticket, hotel booking, health insurance, funds. Stay: 14 days, not extendable. India is in the second visa-free group, which needs a visa or residence permit of certain countries, but not in the Foreign Ministry's first visa-free group. See Oman visa for Indian citizens.

How much is an Oman tourist visa?

The official pages we read don't state the fee of the unsponsored tourist eVisa; the Royal Oman Police eVisa system shows it for your nationality. A sponsored tourist visa, applied for by a licensed tourism company, is open to all nationalities and is valid for 30 days, extendable for a similar period. Fees: OMR 5 for 10 days, OMR 20 for 30 days (the page shows the amounts next to an Omani rial icon whose alt text is 'OMR'). A one-year multiple-entry tourist visit visa is available to citizens of countries the authority specifies, for OMR 50. Conditions: passport valid for at least six months, 'residence' (stay) in Oman not exceeding one month, applicant outside Oman, and no other valid visa. The free 14-day tourist visa is a separate fee-free category in the schedule of entry visa fees.

Can I get a visa on arrival in Oman?

The tourism ministry's visa page says a tourist visa can usually be obtained on arrival but advises getting it before travel. The Foreign Ministry page describes only the online ROP application, so we treat the online route as the main one.

How long can I stay in Oman without a visa?

Visa-free visitors may stay 14 days; the stay cannot be extended or turned into a residence visa. Overstaying the visa-free period costs a fine of 10 rials per day, and the visa-free stay does not allow any work or a switch to a visa that leads to residence (Ministry of Heritage and Tourism PDF).

Do US citizens need a visa for Oman?

US citizens: visa-free, 14 days, not extendable (passport valid 6 months; return ticket, confirmed hotel booking, health insurance and sufficient funds), according to Foreign Ministry of the Sultanate of Oman, checked 31 Oct 2026. The US is in the Foreign Ministry's first visa-free group. See Oman visa for US citizens.

Sources

Official sources only. Each was checked on the date shown.

  1. Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman: visa-free entry, who needs an eVisa, official website, how to apply, entry rules and by nationalityfm.gov.om · checked
  2. Royal Oman Police: fees and how to applyevisa.rop.gov.om · checked · read from an archived copy of 24 Oct 2026
  3. Royal Oman Police (service page on Gov.om, Government of Oman portal): fees and fee historygov.om · checked
  4. Royal Oman Police (service page on Gov.om, Government of Oman portal): feesgov.om · checked
  5. Royal Oman Police: official websiterop.gov.om · checked · read from an archived copy of 20 Jan 2026
  6. Ministry of Heritage and Tourism of Oman (Experience Oman): visa-free entry and feesexperienceoman.om · checked
  7. Royal Oman Police (service page on Gov.om, Government of Oman portal): who needs an eVisa and by nationalitygov.om · checked
  8. Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman: fees, fee history and recent changesfm.gov.om · checked
  9. Royal Oman Police (service page on Gov.om, Government of Oman portal): feesgov.om · checked
  10. Royal Oman Police (service page on Gov.om, Government of Oman portal): feesgov.om · checked
  11. Royal Oman Police: fee historyrop.gov.om · checked · read from an archived copy of 28 Feb 2017
  12. Royal Oman Police (service page on Gov.om, Government of Oman portal): how to applygov.om · checked
  13. Ministry of Heritage and Tourism of Oman (Experience Oman): how to applyexperienceoman.om · checked
  14. Royal Oman Police (eVisa): entry rulesevisa.rop.gov.om · checked

More: Oman entry rules by nationality · Oman for UAE residents · all visa guides.

About this page

By the Visa Almanac editorial team. Every rule, fee and date on this page comes from the official sources listed above, each read on the day shown; where they are silent, we say so. Editorial policy · Change log

Updated
5 Nov 2026
Last checked
Official sources
14
Was this page helpful?Report a change

Visa Almanac is an independent reference, not a government website. We don't issue visas or sell visa services.

Rules change without notice. Always confirm with the official source linked on each page before you travel.