Skip to content

Our standards

Change log

Every edition, correction and removal, dated. When official sources disagree, we say so here and on the page.

  1. Correction

    Morocco: Indians and nine other nationalities can get the e-Visa with a passport alone; South Africa's ETA, Georgia's one-year e-Visa and Thailand's exemption for Indians updated

    • Morocco: our rule let Indian citizens use the e-Visa only with a residence permit or a visa of certain countries, and named only Thailand and Israel for the e-Visa with a passport alone. The eVisa terms of use on the official portal put Azerbaijan, Benin, Brunei, Cambodia, Guatemala, India, Jordan, Laos, Israel, Thailand and Vietnam in that category (https://www.acces-maroc.ma/assets/docs/Conditions%20utilisation%20eVisa%20-%20An.pdf, checked 6 Nov 2026). All of them except Azerbaijan, which the portal does not accept, are now in the e-Visa group. Every e-Visa is for a single entry and up to 30 days, not extendable to six months as the Embassy in New Delhi's older page says. The residence-permit route now includes the UAE, and the visa route includes Japan and Norway.
    • South Africa: the Electronic Travel Authorisation is live for travellers from China, India, Indonesia and Mexico, as the Minister of Tourism said on 26 May 2026 (https://www.gov.za/news/speeches/minister-patricia-de-lille-tourism-dept-budget-vote-202627-26-may-2026, checked 6 Nov 2026). Our ETA group named India only.
    • Georgia: Chinese citizens can now also apply for the one-year tourism e-Visa (C5, USD 300), according to the e-Visa portal's country check (https://www.evisa.gov.ge/GeoVisa/en/VisaApp/CheckCountry?countryid=560, checked 6 Nov 2026). Their visa-free stay is unchanged.
    • Thailand: the 30-day visa exemption for Indian ordinary passport holders is for tourism, as the Royal Thai Embassy in New Delhi now words it (https://newdelhi.thaiembassy.org/en/page/visa, checked 6 Nov 2026). Our rule and the India to Thailand page also mentioned short-term business.
    Pages: /visa/morocco/, /countries/morocco/e-visa/, /passport/india/morocco/, /visa/south-africa/, /countries/south-africa/eta/, /visa/georgia/, /countries/georgia/e-visa/, /visa/thailand/, /passport/india/thailand/
  2. Correction

    Tajikistan: the visa on arrival is requested online in advance

    • Citizens of the 140 countries on Tajikistan's list, among them British and Indian citizens, can get a visa on arrival at Dushanbe International Airport, but the request must be submitted in advance on www.visa.gov.tj. The Foreign Ministry's visa-on-arrival page says so in its Russian version, which the English version leaves out; after a preliminary check the portal sends a confirmation, shown on request before departure and at the airport (https://consular.tj/ru/pages/visa-on-arrival/, checked 5 Nov 2026). Our rule said only that some visa types need an invitation confirmed in advance; it now says the visa is requested in advance. The e-visa (evisa.tj), the visa-free rules and the list of nationalities are unchanged.
    Pages: /visa/tajikistan/, /passport/united-kingdom/tajikistan/, /passport/united-kingdom/, /passport/india/, /passport/india/visa-on-arrival/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/canada/
  3. Correction

    Colombia: Bhutanese citizens need no visa; Dominica: 180 days for the Dominican Republic; Eritrea verified for every nationality

    • Colombia: Bhutan was on our list of nationalities that need a visa. Resolution 12189 of 2026, in force since 4 September 2026, rewrites the list of states exempt from the visa for short stays (under 90 days) and adds Bhutan (https://cancilleria.gov.co/normograma/compilacion/docs/resolucion_minrelaciones_12189_2026.htm, https://cancilleria.gov.co/normograma/compilacion/docs/resolucion_minrelaciones_5488_2022.htm, checked 5 Nov 2026). The Foreign Ministry's visa table we used before predates the resolution.
    • Dominica: citizens of the Dominican Republic can visit without a visa for up to 180 days since 1 February 2026, by a Cabinet decision of 20 January 2026 given effect by S.R.O. 2 of 2026 (https://pressroomopm.gov.dm/cabinet-approves-removal-of-visa-requirements-for-citizens-of-the-dominican-republic/, https://printery.dominica.gov.dm/Gazettes/Details/7875, checked 5 Nov 2026). Our page gave them the general 21 days.
    • Eritrea: the rule is unchanged (a visa is needed, except for Kenyan citizens) but now rests on the Embassy of Eritrea in Washington's visa page, updated April 2025 (https://us.embassyeritrea.org/visa/, checked 5 Nov 2026), so every nationality is covered. US to Ghana: the facts on this page, read from archive copies while Ghana's eVisa portal was down, were all confirmed on the live portal (https://evisa.immigration.gov.gh/applicant-guide.html, checked 5 Nov 2026); nothing changed.
    Pages: /visa/colombia/, /visa/dominica/, /visa/eritrea/, /passport/united-states/ghana/
  4. Correction

    Côte d'Ivoire: Rwandans need no visa; Cuba lists 13 visa-exemption agreements

    • Côte d'Ivoire: Rwandan holders of ordinary or official passports need no entry visa. Our page had Rwanda as not verified. The list of visa-exempt countries dated 12 April 2024 on the e-Visa site of the operator the State designated adds Rwanda to the 2018 list (https://snedai.com/e-visa/, checked 4 Nov 2026).
    • Cuba: the Foreign Ministry's table of visa exemption agreements (https://cubaminrex.cu/es/listado-de-acuerdos-exencion-de-visado, read from its 31 October 2023 archive copy because the live page now refuses access; the table is dated 2018) lets citizens of Antigua and Barbuda, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Belarus, Russia, Singapore and Mongolia visit without a visa for up to 30 days, Barbados and Dominica 28 days, St Vincent and the Grenadines and Grenada 60 days, Malaysia up to 3 months and Kenya 90 days a year. Everyone else still needs the e-visa. North Macedonia and Montenegro stay unverified: the table lists them under a 1965 agreement that Cuba no longer applies to Serbia (checked 4 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/cote-d-ivoire/, /visa/cuba/
  5. Correction

    Israel: applying 72 hours before booking is a recommendation, not a condition

    • For the nationalities that need an ETA-IL, among them US, UK and Canadian citizens, our rule listed “apply at least 72 hours before booking travel” among its conditions. The Population and Immigration Authority says applications may be submitted at any time before travel and only recommends applying at least 72 hours before booking flights or hotels (https://israel-entry.piba.gov.il/get-help, checked 1 Nov 2026). The rule now says so; the ETA-IL itself (NIS 25, up to 90 days per visit) is unchanged.
    Pages: /visa/israel/, /passport/united-states/israel/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/united-kingdom/, /passport/canada/
  6. Correction

    Visa-free with a UK visa: Ireland's Short-Stay Visa Waiver Programme listed again, until 31 December 2026

    • Since 2 November our Ireland rule has shown the programme's extension to 31 December 2026, but the UK visa list still kept the programme under “Not on this list” and said no order extending it had been found. It is now in the Ireland row with the British Irish Visa Scheme: nationals of 21 countries, India among them, can visit Ireland on a valid UK short-stay visa after first entering the UK on it, until 31 December 2026; Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Peru, Qatar and Saudi Arabia only with a UK visa issued before 1 February 2024 (https://www.irishimmigration.ie/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/Irish-Short-Stay-Visa-Waiver-Programme-October-2026.pdf, https://www.irishimmigration.ie/coming-to-visit-ireland/short-stay-visa-waiver-programme/, checked 2 Nov 2026). Our page for Indian passport holders, held back until the extension was confirmed, is now published.
    Pages: /visa-free-with/uk-visa/, /passport/india/ireland/
  7. Correction

    Bolivia now verified for every nationality; Honduras adds its Central American neighbours

    • Bolivia: 22 nationalities had no verified rule on our page. The visa group tables of the Consulate of Bolivia in Rosario (https://www.consuladodebolivia.com.ar/2023/12/21/quienes-necesitan-visa-para-viajar-a-bolivia-y-como-se-la-solicita/) and the Embassy of Bolivia in London (https://bolivianembassy.co.uk/visa-grupos-1-2-3/) put Liechtenstein, Lithuania and Palestine in Group I, which needs no visa. They put 15 more, among them Botswana, Benin, Papua New Guinea and Turkmenistan, and Hong Kong and Macao passports in Group II, where a visa is needed before travel. Where these older tables disagree with the Foreign Ministry's portal or its December 2025 decree, we follow the Ministry. Everyone not listed needs a visa (checked 3 Nov 2026).
    • Honduras: nationals of Guatemala, El Salvador and Nicaragua can enter without a visa for up to 90 days with a national ID card or passport under the CA-4 agreement, extendable by 30 days. This is quoted from the National Migration Institute's visa page, read from its 22 January 2026 archive copy because the live page is gone (https://inm.gob.hn/visas.html, checked 3 Nov 2026). The rest of Honduras' visa list is still not verified.
    Pages: /visa/bolivia/, /visa/honduras/
  8. Correction

    South Korea: no K-ETA for US, UK and Canadian citizens until 31 December 2026

    • We showed US, UK and Canadian citizens as needing a K-ETA. Korea has extended its temporary K-ETA exemption to 31 December 2026 for the countries already exempt: the Korean Embassy in the USA names the US (“including the U.S.A”), the Korean Embassy in Canada says “Canada is exempt”, and the UK is on the first list of exempt countries (29 March 2023). Until then they visit visa-free, US and British citizens for up to 90 days and Canadians for up to 6 months, and instead submit the free e-Arrival Card online within 3 days before arrival; a K-ETA (KRW 10,000) stays optional (https://overseas.mofa.go.kr/us-en/brd/m_4500/view.do?seq=761106, https://overseas.mofa.go.kr/ca-en/brd/m_5231/view.do?seq=761797, https://www.k-eta.go.kr/portal/board/viewboarddetail.do?bbsSn=299707&esntlPnotiMtYn=Y, checked 1 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/south-korea/, /countries/south-korea/k-eta/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/united-kingdom/, /passport/canada/
  9. Correction

    Panama: US and Canadian citizens can stay up to 180 days

    • We gave US and Canadian citizens the 90 days of the other visa-free nationalities. The Embassy of Panama in the United States says Resolution 22706 of September 2021 lets citizens of the United States and Canada stay up to 180 days as tourists, while most other visa-free nationalities get three months (https://www.embassyofpanama.org/visas, checked 1 Nov 2026). Both still need no visa.
    Pages: /visa/panama/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/canada/
  10. Correction

    Dominican Republic: 30 days for visa-free tourists, extendable online up to 120

    • Our rule gave no length of stay for the nationalities who need no visa. The General Directorate of Migration says tourists get 30 days and can extend their stay online up to 120 days in all; the request takes 3 working days, and the stay fee is RD$3,500 for 30 to 90 days or RD$5,600 for 90 to 120 days (https://migracion.gob.do/en/servicio/stay-extension/, read from its archived copy of 2 Aug 2026 because the site blocks automated access; checked 1 Nov 2026). Brazil and Morocco, exempt under agreements of their own, keep no stated stay.
    Pages: /visa/dominican-republic/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/united-kingdom/, /passport/canada/
  11. Correction

    Saudi Arabia: the ETA for British citizens, the eVisa for Canadians

    • British citizens: we headlined a visa on arrival. Since 1 July 2026 they have an Electronic Travel Authorization of their own, applied for online on the KSA Visa platform before travel: SAR 50, valid 730 days for multiple entries, stays of up to 180 days within a year (https://ksavisa.sa/visa/electronic-travel-authorization/details; the launch was announced by the Saudi Press Agency, https://www.spa.gov.sa/en/N2620727; checked 1 Nov 2026). The tourist eVisa remains open to them.
    • Canadians: we headlined a visa on arrival too. As for US citizens since 1 Nov 2026, the tourist eVisa is now their rule, for up to 90 days (https://ksavisa.sa/visa/tourism/details, checked 1 Nov 2026): the platform's tourism page lists the visa on arrival only for holders of US, UK or Schengen visas and US, UK or EU permanent residents, and no Saudi page states it for Canadian or British citizens as such.
    Pages: /visa/saudi-arabia/, /passport/united-kingdom/, /passport/canada/
  12. Correction

    Russia: US citizens can stay 90 days in each 180

    • US citizens still need a visa. Our rule gave no length of stay; it now carries the Foreign Ministry's general limit: whatever the number of entries on the visa, total stays may not exceed 90 days in each 180-day period (https://www.kdmid.ru/cons/visas/, checked 1 Nov 2026). Under the 2011 Russia–US visa agreement, multiple-entry visas are as a rule issued valid for up to 36 months; that is how long the visa is valid, not a longer stay.
    Pages: /visa/russia/, /passport/united-states/
  13. Correction

    Albania: 90 days in any 180 for visa-exempt nationals

    • For the 54 nationalities on Albania's main visa-free list, among them the US, the UK and Canada, we gave no length of stay. Albania's Law no. 79/2021 on foreigners, Article 29(2), lets every visa-exempt foreigner enter and stay up to 90 days within 180 days of entry (https://qbz.gov.al/pdf/020785583d49c7d99bcf05b9c77972662ad6a5b7bb3411eea6faf1f58864257c.pdf, checked 1 Nov 2026). The temporary 2026 tourist exemption for Saudi Arabia and Qatar keeps no stated stay.
    Pages: /visa/albania/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/united-kingdom/, /passport/canada/
  14. Correction

    Bahamas: Indians with permanent residence in the US, the UK, Canada or a Schengen state need no visa

    • For Indian passport holders we listed only the visa route: no Bahamas visa for up to 3 months with a valid visa of Canada, the UK, the US or a Schengen state. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs' eVISA page also exempts Indians who are permanent residents of the Schengen countries, the UK, Canada or the US; they show proof of that status with their passport at entry (https://mofa.gov.bs/evisa-online-services/, checked 1 Nov 2026). Other Indians need a Bahamas visa.
    • British citizens: the rule (visa-free for up to 8 months) is unchanged, but it now quotes the Ministry's own sentence for the United Kingdom instead of its sentence for the United States (https://mofa.gov.bs/visa-information-for-foreigners/, checked 1 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/bahamas/, /passport/india/, /passport/united-kingdom/
  15. Correction

    Cuba: Canadians can stay 90 days, extendable by 90

    • We showed the tourist e-visa for Canadians without a length of stay. The Embassy of Cuba in Canada says the tourist visa (tourist card) is valid for a single entry and a stay of 90 days, extendable for another 90; it is issued online in digital form, included in the air ticket on Canadian airlines and otherwise applied for at evisacuba.cu (https://misiones.cubaminrex.cu/en/canada/consular-services, checked 1 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/cuba/, /passport/canada/
  16. Correction

    Jordan: the visa on arrival is for one month

    • Nationals of the countries that are not on the Interior Ministry's restricted list get a visa on arrival; we gave no length of stay. The single-entry visa is valid for one month and can be extended at a police station for a fee (Jordan Pass, Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities, https://www.jordanpass.jo/Contents/FAQs.aspx; the Jordan Tourism Board says the same; checked 1 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/jordan/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/united-kingdom/, /passport/canada/, /passport/india/
  17. Correction

    Morocco: visa-exempt tourists can stay up to three months

    • For most nationalities on Morocco's visa-exemption list, among them the US, the UK and Canada, we gave no length of stay. The Foreign Ministry says a tourist stay is limited to three months for foreigners who are exempt from the visa; to stay longer, they must ask the national police (DGSN) for permission (https://fr.diplomatie.ma/visiter-le-maroc-formalit%C3%A9s-et-proc%C3%A9dures-pour-les-visiteurs-internationaux, checked 1 Nov 2026). Nationalities with a stay of their own on the list keep it.
    Pages: /visa/morocco/, /passport/united-states/morocco/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/united-kingdom/, /passport/canada/
  18. Correction

    Qatar: visa-free entry for the 30-day list, in Qatar Tourism's wording

    • For the 38 nationalities on the Interior Ministry's 30-day list, among them the UK and Canada, we showed a free visa on arrival. Qatar Tourism says visa-free entry is the new term for what it called a visa on arrival and that “Nothing changed except the name”; its visa checker tells British and Canadian citizens to enter visa-free with a passport valid for at least three months and a confirmed hotel booking (https://visitqatar.com/intl-en/plan-your-trip/visas, checked 1 Nov 2026). Our rule now uses that wording, as it has for Indians since 1 Nov 2026. The Interior Ministry's page (2021) still calls it a free visa on arrival for 30 days, extendable once by 30 days; our pages say so.
    Pages: /visa/qatar/, /passport/united-kingdom/, /passport/canada/
  19. Correction

    Sources and wording fixed for the Maldives, Serbia, Barbados, Jamaica and Taiwan; the rules are unchanged

    • Maldives: the 30-day visa on arrival is unchanged. The sentence we quoted (“Tourists receive a 30-day visa on arrival.”) is no longer on the immigration service's FAQ page but on every page of its site, so we now cite the tourist-visa page (https://www.immigration.gov.mv/visa/tourist-visa, checked 1 Nov 2026). Our page for Indian passport holders, held back until an official page confirmed the 30 days, is now published.
    • Serbia: Indians still need a visa unless they hold a qualifying visa or residence permit. The rule now cites the Foreign Ministry's page for India instead of its page for Afghanistan, which says the same (https://www.mfa.gov.rs/en/citizens/travel-serbia/visa-regime/indija, checked 1 Nov 2026).
    • Barbados and Jamaica: Indians still need no visa. Each rule now quotes the India row of the official list instead of another country's row: Barbados, “No Visa required” under a visa waiver agreement of 16 May 2019 (https://www.foreign.gov.bb/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Updated-visa-list-May-09-2025-002.pdf); Jamaica, “INDIA (Commonwealth) NO visa required” (https://www.pica.gov.jm/immigration/entry-visa-requirements); both checked 1 Nov 2026.
    • Taiwan: British and Canadian citizens' 90-day visa-free stay can be extended once, free of charge, to 180 days, as the Bureau of Consular Affairs' notice for them says; we had “extendable up to 180 days” (https://www.boca.gov.tw/dl-1941-10818f41fd244cbbbb5de39737fc963a.html, checked 1 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/maldives/, /passport/india/maldives/, /visa/serbia/, /visa/barbados/, /visa/jamaica/, /visa/taiwan/, /passport/india/
  20. Correction

    Ireland's visa waiver extended to 31 December 2026; Burundi and Nicaragua now verified for every nationality

    • Ireland: the Short-Stay Visa Waiver Programme was set to end on 31 October 2026. Irish Immigration Service Delivery's programme document of October 2026 says it “is to continue until 31 December 2026 and may be amended at any time”. Nationals of the programme's countries, India among them, can still visit Ireland on a valid UK short-stay visa after first entering the UK, and our rule now shows the end date (https://www.irishimmigration.ie/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/Irish-Short-Stay-Visa-Waiver-Programme-October-2026.pdf, checked 2 Nov 2026).
    • Burundi: every nationality outside the East African Community and DR Congo gets a visa on arrival at Bujumbura's Melchior Ndadaye airport. Before, our page assumed an eVisa because no official page stated the rule. The Embassy of Burundi in Germany says “All visa applicants for Burundi are requested to do so on arrival at Bujumbura's Melchior Ndadaye international airport until further notice” (https://ambaburundi-botschaft.de/?p=23); the immigration service sells the 1-month airport visa (USD 40) online in advance (https://migration.gov.bi, checked 2 Nov 2026).
    • Nicaragua: our page had no official source until now. Disposición No. 002-2026 of the Ministry of the Interior's Directorate General of Migration (in force since 16 February 2026) lists 67 nationalities in our list as visa-free, the US, Canada, the UK and most of the EU among them. It puts 127 nationalities, including Mexico, Peru, New Zealand, India and China, in category C: a consulted visa that the Directorate must approve before travel (https://www.inac.gob.ni/cambio-de-categorias-migratorias-de-visa-para-ingresar-a-nicaragua/, checked 2 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/ireland/, /visa/burundi/, /visa/nicaragua/, /visa-free-with/uk-visa/
  21. Correction

    Morocco: the e-visa with a multiple-entry US, UK or Schengen visa, for Indians and other visa nationals

    • Our Morocco rule quoted only the Embassy's category B for the e-visa open to nationalities that need a visa, Indians among them: a residence permit of an EU country, the US, Canada, the UK, Japan, Norway, Switzerland, New Zealand, Israel or Australia, valid at least 180 days. The Embassy of the Kingdom of Morocco in India also gives category C: a valid non-electronic multiple-entry visa of the USA, Australia, Canada, the UK, Ireland, New Zealand or a Schengen state, valid at least 90 days from the application. That route is now a rule of its own with the Embassy's wording: an e-visa applied for on acces-maroc.ma, for 30 days, extendable up to six months (https://in.diplomatie.ma/en/e-visa-0, checked 1 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/morocco/, /passport/india/
  22. Correction

    Cambodia: US citizens can also get a visa on arrival

    • We listed only the eVisa for US passport holders. Cambodia's Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, through its embassy in Berlin, says a visa on arrival remains available at all international airports and land border checkpoints, with the land crossings with Thailand closed until further notice, and the U.S. State Department says US travellers can get a Cambodian visa at the airports in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap and at all major border crossings. The rule for US citizens is now a visa on arrival, with the eVisa as the alternative (https://recberlin.mfaic.gov.kh/en-us/how-to-get-a-cambodian-visa, checked 1 Nov 2026). We have not checked which other nationalities qualify, so their rule is unchanged.
    Pages: /visa/cambodia/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/united-states/cambodia/
  23. Correction

    Tanzania: US citizens take the Multiple Visa, not the Ordinary Visa

    • For US passport holders we showed the 90-day Ordinary Visa. Tanzania's Visa Guidelines of September 2026 say US citizens cannot get the Ordinary Visa and must take the Multiple Visa even for a single trip: USD 100, valid up to 12 months, up to three months (90 days) per visit, applied for online or on arrival (https://www.immigration.go.tz/websiteportal/uploads/information_links/info_link_20260910_084204_a50ed70947.pdf, checked 1 Nov 2026). The rule for other nationalities is unchanged.
    Pages: /visa/tanzania/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/united-states/tanzania/
  24. Correction

    Saudi Arabia: the eVisa is the rule for US citizens

    • We headlined a visa on arrival for US passport holders. The KSA Visa platform's visa finder gives the same on-arrival text to nationalities that qualify only with a US, UK or Schengen visa, its tourism page lists the visa on arrival only for holders of those visas and US, UK or EU permanent residents, and we found no official statement of a visa on arrival for US citizens as such. The tourist eVisa is confirmed for them: up to 90 days, single entry valid 90 days or multiple entry valid 1 year (https://ksavisa.sa/visa/tourism/details, checked 1 Nov 2026). The other nationalities on the on-arrival list are unchanged until we re-check them.
    Pages: /visa/saudi-arabia/, /passport/united-states/, /passport/united-states/saudi-arabia/
  25. Correction

    Bangladesh: no visa on arrival for Indians

    • We listed Indian passport holders among the nationalities that can get a visa on arrival as investors, as business visitors with an invitation, or when arriving from a country without a Bangladesh mission. The Deputy High Commission of Bangladesh in Chennai says visa on arrival is not applicable for Indian nationals (https://chennai.mofa.gov.bd/pages/static-pages/695266a535ce18e1c05aa8dd, checked 1 Nov 2026). Indians need a visa from a Bangladesh mission before travel.
    Pages: /visa/bangladesh/, /passport/india/
  26. Correction

    South Africa: Indians can get their visa online, through the ETA

    • We said Indian passport holders need a visa before travel. South Africa's Department of Home Affairs issues their visa online through its Electronic Travel Authorisation (eta.dha.gov.za), launched officially on 12 August 2026 after a pilot for travellers from China, India, Indonesia and Mexico, for arrivals at OR Tambo, Cape Town, King Shaka and Lanseria airports. Arriving anywhere else, Indians still need a visa from a South African mission (https://www.dha.gov.za/index.php/statements-speeches/2079-address-by-the-minister-of-home-affairs-dr-leon-schreiber-at-the-official-launch-of-south-africa-s-electronic-travel-authorisation, checked 1 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/south-africa/, /passport/india/, /passport/india/e-visa/
  27. Correction

    Qatar: visa-free entry for Indians, in Qatar Tourism's current wording

    • We showed a free visa on arrival for Indian passport holders, for up to 30 days and with a hotel booked through discoverqatar.qa only, as the Interior Ministry's page says. Qatar Tourism says visa-free entry is now the term for what was called a visa on arrival, and its visa checker tells Indians to enter visa-free with a passport valid for at least three months and a confirmed hotel booking on arrival (https://visitqatar.com/intl-en/plan-your-trip/visas, checked 1 Nov 2026). The Interior Ministry's older page (2021) still gives up to 30 days and asks for a Discover Qatar booking; our pages now say so.
    Pages: /visa/qatar/, /passport/india/, /passport/india/visa-on-arrival/
  28. Correction

    UAE residents: Montenegro, Albania, Georgia and Japan corrected; unconfirmed fees removed

    • Montenegro also accepts residence permits of the Schengen states, the US, the UK and Ireland, and its decree published on 6 August 2026 adds Australian, Japanese, Canadian and New Zealand visas and permits and APEC cards. We had listed Schengen, US, UK and Irish visas only.
    • Japan added: UAE residents can get the 90-day tourist JAPAN eVISA through an accredited agency.
    • Albania: up to 90 days in any 180, and used multiple-entry EU, US or UK visas also qualify. We had the stay as not stated.
    • Georgia: the UAE residence permit must be valid on the day of entry and of departure, and the passport for at least 90 days.
    • Removed because no official page states them: Türkiye's e-Visa fees, Azerbaijan's USD 50 urgent e-Visa fee, one figure for Egypt's visa-on-arrival fee (the authority's page gives two), and the Maldives' stay and fee. Malaysia's 30 days are now cited to the High Commission of India in Kuala Lumpur, the only official page that states them.
    Pages: Visa-Free Countries for UAE Residents, /uae-residents/montenegro/, /uae-residents/albania/, /uae-residents/georgia/, /uae-residents/japan/
  29. Correction

    Japan: the JAPAN eVISA is open to residents of any eVISA country, not only of their own

    • For Indian, Cambodian, Mongolian, Saudi and South African passports we said the JAPAN eVISA was only for nationals living in their own country. Japan's Ministry of Foreign Affairs says every foreign national living in an eVISA country or region can apply, unless exempt from a short-term visa: online from Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Taiwan, the UK or the US, and through an accredited agency in Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Macau, Mongolia, South Korea, Singapore or the UAE. Indians living in the UAE, for example, can apply through an accredited agency there (https://www.mofa.go.jp/j_info/visit/visa/visaonline.html, checked 1 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/japan/, /passport/india/
  30. Correction

    Thailand: the 30-day exemption for Indians also covers short-term business

    • We said Indian passport holders could use Thailand's 30-day visa exemption for tourism only, as the Department of Consular Affairs list of 15 September 2026 says. The Royal Thai Embassy in New Delhi says the exemption for Indian ordinary passport holders covers tourism and short-term business engagements, in force since 15 September 2026 until further announcement (https://newdelhi.thaiembassy.org/en/page/visa, checked 1 Nov 2026). The rule for the other nationalities on the list is unchanged.
    Pages: /visa/thailand/, /passport/india/
  31. Correction

    Georgia: no 120-day validity for the e-Visa

    • Our e-Visa rule for 19 nationalities, Indians among them, read “30 days, single entry, visa valid 120 days”. No official page states the 120 days, so we removed them. The stay is still up to 30 days, single entry: Georgia's consular portal says a short-term single-entry visa is issued for not more than 30 calendar days (https://www.geoconsul.gov.ge/en/entering-georgia, checked 1 Nov 2026).
    Pages: /visa/georgia/, /passport/india/
  32. Edition

    Third edition: entry rules for every destination, and a page for every passport

    • Entry rules by nationality for 199 destinations, each taken from the destination's own government: its foreign or interior ministry, immigration service or official eVisa portal, and EU Regulation 2018/1806 for the Schengen area. Every rule shows its source, a quote and the date we checked it.
    • 174 destinations are verified for every nationality and 18 in part. For 7 we could not open an official source, so their pages say so and link to the official sites. Where an official source leaves a nationality unclear, we mark it “Not verified yet” instead of guessing.
    • A page for every citizenship lists where that passport can go without a visa, with a visa on arrival, with an eVisa or ETA, and where it needs a visa before travel. The page for US citizens moved to /passport/united-states/.
    • Checked against the US State Department and UK travel advice (FCDO). One correction followed: Rwanda gives Commonwealth, African Union and Francophonie nationals a free visa on arrival rather than visa-free entry, as its immigration service's current page says.
    Pages: /passport/, /countries/
  33. Edition

    Second edition: every open check from the first edition resolved

    • 39 points that the first edition had flagged for confirmation were re-checked on official sources.
    • 16 were confirmed and, where needed, corrected. 7 turned out to be conflicts between official pages: we now name both sources and say which one we follow. 16 statements were removed because no official source confirmed them.
    • Bylines now read “Visa Almanac editorial team”. We removed the promise of a monthly re-check: instead, every row and page shows the day it was last checked.
    Pages: Visa-Free Countries for UAE Residents, Oman Visa for UAE Residents, Saudi Arabia Visa for UAE Residents, Schengen Visa from Dubai for UAE Residents, India e-Visa: A Complete Guide for US Travelers, Vietnam e-Visa: How to Apply from the US
  34. Correction

    Corrections

    • Oman: the UAE departure fee for land and sea exits is paid in person at the port, not online (GDRFA Dubai). We no longer quote an amount, because the official page does not state one.
    • Schengen, France: all applications from the UAE go to the VFS Global centre in Abu Dhabi, for residents of every emirate; there is no French visa centre in Dubai. France-Visas asks applicants to plan their appointment at least 3 months ahead and says there is no accelerated procedure.
    • Schengen: visa centre cities confirmed for Bulgaria, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Lithuania and Norway (Abu Dhabi and Dubai). Slovakia's centres are confirmed; its fees are not published, so we removed them.
    • Schengen, Romania: the procedure is confirmed (online e-Viza application, then in person, not by post). The city is not stated officially, so we do not show one.
    • Visa-free table: Egypt depends on nationality or on a used US, UK or Schengen visa, and is now in the conditional table. Jordan's visa on arrival applies to nationals of non-Arab African countries only (Jordan Pass), not to Gulf residents in general.
    • Vietnam: entry through the port named on the e-visa is now cited to the official national tourism site.
    • Oman, Philippine passport: the 14-day visa-free entry is confirmed on the Oman Ministry of Foreign Affairs list.
    Pages: Oman Visa for UAE Residents, Schengen Visa from Dubai for UAE Residents, Visa-Free Countries for UAE Residents, Vietnam e-Visa: How to Apply from the US
  35. Removed

    Removed because an official source could not confirm them

    • India: the e-Conference fee for US citizens (row removed from the fee table) and the start date of Air Suvidha (the requirement itself stays).
    • Vietnam: the claim that the official portal has no urgent option, and the current scope of the pre-arrival information pilot. Only the dated facts stay: a pilot since 15 April 2026, voluntary in May 2026.
    • Oman: whether Royal Oman Police applies the 14-day visa-free entry at the border, the insurance rule for UAE-registered cars and Oman's road charges, and a country list for the free 14-day visa (the ministry's announcement lists no countries).
    • Saudi Arabia: the statement that single- and multiple-entry visas cost the same.
    • Visa-free table: whether Uzbekistan accepts the Emirates ID in place of a residence visa; an exemption for Bosnia and Herzegovina for holders of Schengen, EU or US visas (a visa is required, per its foreign ministry); passport-specific cells for Bahrain and Kuwait (the GCC-resident rule stays); the Pakistani-passport cell for Cambodia.
    Pages: India e-Visa: A Complete Guide for US Travelers, Vietnam e-Visa: How to Apply from the US, Oman Visa for UAE Residents, Saudi Arabia Visa for UAE Residents, Visa-Free Countries for UAE Residents
  36. Source conflict

    Conflicts between official pages, shown openly

    • India: e-Conference visa entries (one, per the Bureau of Immigration, against several on the e-Visa portal); e-Medical validity (60 days and three entries, per the Bureau, against one year on a portal banner); cruise seaports (38 on the Bureau's list against an older portal FAQ); land entry points (12 on the Bureau's list against an older FAQ).
    • Saudi Arabia: profession limits and the single-entry stay (90 days on the KSA Visa and Visit Saudi platforms, one month in the Ministry of Tourism regulation).
    • Schengen, Switzerland: how long the UAE residence permit must stay valid (3 months after leaving the Schengen area on the embassy checklist, which matches the EU rule, against 1 month after return on the embassy web page).
    Pages: India e-Visa: A Complete Guide for US Travelers, Saudi Arabia Visa for UAE Residents, Schengen Visa from Dubai for UAE Residents
  37. Edition

    First edition

    • Six guides: visa-free countries for UAE residents, Oman, Saudi Arabia and Schengen from Dubai for UAE residents, and the India and Vietnam e-Visas for US citizens.
    • The UAE-residents table: 32 destinations, each cell taken from an official source of the destination and dated.
    Pages: Visa-Free Countries for UAE Residents, Oman Visa for UAE Residents, Saudi Arabia Visa for UAE Residents, Schengen Visa from Dubai for UAE Residents, India e-Visa: A Complete Guide for US Travelers, Vietnam e-Visa: How to Apply from the US

Seen something out of date? Report a change.

Visa Almanac is an independent reference, not a government website. We don't issue visas or sell visa services.

Rules change without notice. Always confirm with the official source linked on each page before you travel.